Home >Shortlist announced for Safety and Health Excellence Awards

Shortlist announced for Safety and Health Excellence Awards

21 February 2018

The shortlist has been announced for the inaugural Safety and Health Excellence (SHE) Awards, which includes categories on fire safety and security and incorporates the long-standing British Safety Industry Federation (BSIF) Awards.

An esteemed panel of key industry figures whittled down more than 150 entries to a shortlist of 75 entries across nine categories. The panel of judges include Teresa Budworth (NEBOSH), Dr Bob Docherty (Institute of Fire Safety Managers), James Kelly (British Security Industry Association), Ian Moore (Fire Industry Association), Niall Rowan (Association for Specialist Fire Protection), Neal Stone (ex-British Safety Council), Rob Strange (ex-Institution of Occupational Safety and Health) and Colin Webb (Oxford University). 

The winners will be unveiled at a gala awards dinner on 11 April 2018, which will be hosted by comedian Rory Bremner at the prestigious VOX at Resorts World, NEC Birmingham. The shortlists are as follows:

Campaign of the Year 
Edinburgh Airport
Cirrus Research
Turner and Townsend
Jaguar Land Rover
British Woodworking Federation
Forklift Truck Association
UK Asbestos Training
Brunel University London

Health and Safety Team of the Year – Sponsored by NEBOSH
Incentive FM
Hunter Safety Solutions 
Galdris Construction Ltd
O'Donovan Waste Disposal Ltd
Compass Group UK Healthcare
Poole Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Heightsafe Systems Ltd
Authentick Ltd
Wills Bros Civil Engineering Ltd

Rising Star
Adam Gomes (Altius VA)
Ugochi Obidiegwu (Aero Contractors)
Dale Hughes (Essity Operations Manchester Ltd)
Kirsty Johnson (Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust)
Melenie Tennela (H&S Made Easy)
Richard Isingoma (Doosan Babcock General Maintenance Service LLC)
Alexandria Roberts (Mid and West Wales Fire and Rescue Service)
Luke Hunt (Hunter Safety Solutions)
Matt Hazelton (Proud2bSafe Ltd)

H&S Manager of the Year – Sponsored by NQA
Adam Gomes (Altius VA)
Peter Furlong (Boccard UK Ltd)
Robin Gibson (Morgan Sindall Construction)
Dianne France (Shipley College)
Ciaran Butler (Sodexo)
Brett Townsley (Hoover Ferguson)
Terry Edwards (Bedford Hospital NHS Trust)
Jason Clarke (Warwick Estates)
Gary Youngson (Berendsen UK)

Fire Innovation of the Year – Sponsored by Turner and Townsend
Apollo Fire Detectors
Baldwin Boxall
Coltraco Ultrasonics
GAE Engineering

Security Innovation of the Year 
BT Redcare
Wireless CCTV
Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Pick Protection

SHE Awards director Tim Else commented: “The SHE Awards were launched as part of our strategic partnership with BSIF. Celebrating excellence and recognising great work is our goal and the incredible reaction we have seen from the market clearly demonstrates the need for such an awards scheme.  

“Our expert judging panel are excited at the quality and range of entries and we look forward to revealing the SHE Award Winners on 11 April. Now is the time to secure your table, celebrate with your clients and thank your team for their tireless work in the pursuit of safety and health excellence”.

The BSIF Awards will be judged live at the Health and Safety Event on 10-11 April 2018 at NEC Birmingham, with the winners also announced at the SHE Awards on the evening of 11 April 2018. The shortlist for the BSIF categories includes:

BSIF Product Innovation Award
Univet – Vision AR
EAVE – Intelligent Ear Defenders
Alpha Solway – Ranger Helmet
Keypoint – Terranova boot
JSP – Evo 5 Dualswitch
JSP – Powercap Infinity
Tornado Gloves – Aura Glove
HB Protective – Tempex Cold Store Clothing
Berendsen – Smart Garment
Diadora – Net Breathing System
Dynamic Ear – Filtered Foam Ear Plugs
Ansell – Alphatec 58-735

BSIF Safety Solution Award
Boots UK - Boots UK develops innovative in house HGV Drive off  Safety solution
Green Gate Access Systems - SOSEC – The UK’s first mobile solar-powered barrier/gate combination
Matrix Telematics – Driive
Southalls – Defining Safety Excellence
Good to Go Safety – ZF TRW Sunderland

BSIF chief executive Alan Murray commented: “I am delighted to be able to say that the 2018 entries for the BSIF Product Innovation, Service Excellence and Safety Solutions Awards, reached a record level.

“We are looking forward to live judging of the outstanding product innovation entries on the 10-11 April at the NEC, during the Health and Safety Event. The winners will receive their awards at the fantastic Awards Evening on 11 April held in the Vox hosted by the amazing Rory Bremner.”

The SHE Awards, sponsored by 3M, take place on 11 April 2018 at the Vox, Resorts World, NEC Birmingham and tickets are on sale now. A table of ten costs £1800+VAT and individual tickets cost £199+VAT. To book your ticket visit www.she-awards.co.uk or call 01342 333 724.

You can see a video with the judges' thoughts below:

F&S NEC | Online Banner