Home>Trade Body>BSiF>Shortlist for BSIF Outstanding Contribution Award announced

Shortlist for BSIF Outstanding Contribution Award announced

22 September 2014

On Thursday 25th September, the British Safety Industry Federation (BSIF) will host its Networking Event and Gala Dinner and announce the winners of two awards.

The first award will be for Commitment to Federation Activities - presented to an individual, who, with the support of his organisation, has committed exceptional resources to the work of the BSIF. The second, sponsored by The McOnie Agency, is the Outstanding Contribution Award, presented to an individual who has improved occupational safety through exceptional personal effort.

Commenting on the awards Alan Murray, BSIF CEO says: "The awards recognise people who have been instrumental within the safety industry. The nominees and winners are all committed to the goals of the BSIF which are to continue to improve safety and offer guidance and support on a wide range of occupational issues.”  

The finalists for this year’s Outstanding Contribution Award are:    

·        Mike Sargeant, founder of Guardsman. Mike is proud to have taken Guardsman from humble beginnings to a company that now employs 40 people. Guardsman has won the BSIF Service Excellence Award three times and has been highly commended/commended twice in the five years it has entered. Within the BSIF, Mike has assisted in its development via Federation Council, and through the Distributor Association as Chair. 

·         John Cairns, Safety Groups UK Chairman. John is widely recognised within the PPE industry and has been working in that field since 1974. He has won several awards for his work, including the 1st Winner IOSH UK Innovation Award in 1995 and the 2010 IOSH UK Award for Partnerships.

·         Leslie Blustin and Greg Murray, joint founders of BM Polyco. They have been nominated together due to their commitment and drive in establishing BM Polyco as the market leaders in the PPE hand protection market, overcoming many obstacles to do so.

The winners of both awards will be announced on the night.