Home >Winners announced for the Safety & Health Excellence Awards

Winners announced for the Safety & Health Excellence Awards

12 April 2018

Western Business Exhibitions, organiser of The Health & Safety Event, has announced the winners of the inaugural Safety and Health Excellence (SHE) Awards. The ceremony, sponsored by 3M, was hosted by Rory Bremner on 11th April at The VOX, Birmingham and saw an attendance of over 420 professionals from the safety, fire safety, security and facilities industries.

The winners were chosen by an esteemed panel of key industry figures who whittled down more than 150 entries to a shortlist of 75 entries across nine categories.

The categories aim to cover all aspects of health and safety, fire safety and security and incorporates the long-standing British Safety Industry Federation (BSIF) Awards.

Wills Bros Civil Engineering Ltd was awarded the Health and Safety Team of the Year (sponsored by NEBOSH) prize with Galdris Construction announced as Highly Commended and Compass Group UK Healthcare Commended.
Fire Innovation of the Year award (sponsored by Turner & Townsend) was won by Coltraco Ultrasonics with runners up Apollo Fire Detectors being selected Highly Commended and Detectortesters awarded the Commended prize.
Wireless CCTV won Security Innovation of the Year with Pick Protection and Texecom being selected as Highly Commended and Commended respectively.
British Woodwork Federation were presented with the award for Campaign of the Year for their work on Fire Door Safety Week. Highly Commended was awarded to Edinburgh Airport and Commend to UK Asbestos Training.
But it wasn’t just businesses that celebrated success, Alexandra Roberts from Mid-West Wales Fire and Rescue Service was awarded Rising Star of the Year and Terry Edwards from Bedfordshire NHS Trust took home the Health & Safety Manager of the Year (sponsored by NQA).
Finally, the most prestigious award of the evening, the Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Lawrence Waterman OBE, who is managing partner at the Park Health and Safety Partnership, and was formerly head of health and safety for the London Olympic Delivery Authority and the past president of IOSH.

In addition, the BSIF Awards, which were judged live at The Health and Safety Event on 10-11 April 2018 at NEC Birmingham, were also announced during the ceremony. Guardsman Ltd were awarded the BSIF Customer Service Award, the BSIF Product Innovation Award being won by Eave Intelligent Ear Defenders, and the BSIF Safety Solution Award to Green Gate Access Systems.

The panel of judges for the awards included Teresa Budworth (NEBOSH), Dr Bob Docherty (Institute of Fire Safety Managers), James Kelly (British Security Industry Association), Ian Moore (Fire Industry Association), Niall Rowan (Association for Specialist Fire Protection), Neal Stone (ex-British Safety Council), Rob Strange (ex-Institution of Occupational Safety and Health) and Colin Webb (Oxford University).