Home>Industry Update>Recognition & Reward>Safety and Health Excellence Awards 2023 winners announced

Safety and Health Excellence Awards 2023 winners announced

05 June 2023

THE WINNERS of the Safety and Health Excellence Awards 2023 have been revealed at a sold-out gala ceremony hosted by Strictly Come Dancing’s Tess Daly.

This year’s SHE Awards received a record 220+ entries and all 750 tickets to the ceremony sold out in record time. The Awards took place on 26 April 2022 at The Vox, Resorts World at NEC Birmingham and once again were organised in partnership between Health and Safety Matters and The British Safety Industry Federation and had EcoOnline as headline sponsor.

The ceremony began with the presentation of the prestigious BSIF Awards and concluded with a standing ovation for JSP Ltd's founder Clive Johnstone who was a very popular and deserving winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award. The list of winners for the Safety & Health Excellence Awards 2023 is as follows:

BSIF Product Innovation Award – PPE Category
Winner: Rezon - Halos®
Highly Commended: Ansell - Inteliforz Motion Series
Highly Commended: 3M - Sala Exofit XE Harness
Commended: Haix - Connexis Safety Boot
Commended: Polyco Healthline - Armorguard – The Bear

BSIF Product Innovation – Safety Product Category
Winner: Alert Technology – Alert Pro Connected
Highly Commended: Protex AI
Commended: FEIN – Protago high-safety angle grinder

BSIF Customer Service Award
Winner: Harrisons of Hull 
Highly Commended: Uvex 
Highly Commended: Gauged Solutions
Commended: Lee Brothers 
Commended: Red Wing UK 

BSIF Safety Solution Award
Winner: Protex AI
Highly Commended: Lyreco
Commended: Arco Professional Safety Services Ltd

Alan McArthur Unsung Hero Awards – Sponsored by 3M
Winner: Tanya Aspinall - Medicines Discovery Catapult 
Highly Commended: Jayne Downey – Travis Perksin
Commended: Ray Jeffery - Martin- Baker Aircraft Ltd

Health and Safety Manager of the Year – Sponsored by RS Safety Solutions
Winner: Mark Smith - Openfield Agriculture Ltd
Highly Commended: Hannah France - Blue Group
Commended: Kris Kelly – ADT Workplace

Best Health and Safety in Construction – Sponsored by The Safety Knife Company
Winner: National Access & Scaffolding Confederation

Marketing Campaign of the Year – Sponsored by Fire Safety Matters
Winner: Martor UK Ltd
Highly Commended: STALSEN
Commended: 3M

Best Health and Safety in Manufacturing – Sponsored by Martor UK
Winner: Proseal UK
Highly Commended: Först Global
Commended: Nestle Waters UK   

Best Use of Health and Safety Data to Lower Incident Rates – Sponsored by Discovering Safety
Winner: TSO
Highly Commended: D Morgan PLC and Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust
Commended: O.C.O Technology

Distributor of the Year – Sponsored by Health and Safety Matters
Winner: Tower Supplies
Highly Commended: Lyreco UK
Commended: Cromwell 

Campaign of the Year (Sponsored by Safety Rocks)
Winner: BAE Systems Maritime Services
Highly Commended: Protector Insurance
Commended: Weetabix

Best Health and Safety Project (Sponsored by The Health and Safety Event)
Winner: Hitachi Rail in partnership with BB&A
Highly Commended: DFS Trading Ltd
Commended: One Creative Environments Ltd

Woman of the Year (Sponsored by Cromwell)
Winner: Jane Downey - Travis Perkins PLC
Highly Commended: Sarah Valentine - Eversheds Sutherland
Commended: Katie Hunter – Hunter Safety Group

Health and Safety Team of the Year – Sponsored by NEBOSH
Winner: The Automobile Association
Highly Commended: Biffa
Commended: Elis UK

Rising Star – Sponsored by Evotix
Winner: Charlotte Waller - Schaeffler (UK) Limited
Highly Commended: Rob Canham - Terra Firma
Commended: Kieran Kerswell - Abellio Rail Replacement

Safer Logistics Awards – Sponsored by Logistics Matters
Winner: Weetabix
Highly Commended: DPD and International Workplace
Commended: Vodaphone Idea 

Best Driver Risk Management Performance – Sponsored by National Highways
Winner:  Heineken UK
Highly Commended: Clean Linen Services
Commended: FM Conway and TES 2000

Lifetime Achievement Award (Sponsored by EcoOnline)
Winner: Clive Johnstone – JSP Ltd

You can see photos from the SHE Awards below.

Safety and Health Excellence Awards 2023